Skip to main content

Ski & Snowboard News / Ski Hall of Fame inducts four today

Sep 21, 2016 09:28AM ● Published by Harriet Wallis

Christin Cooper

Athletes and industry giants who have made an important mark on the western ski scene may be chosen for induction into the Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame. This year's inductees are:

Olympic alpine skiing medalist and broadcast analyst Christin Cooper, Paralympic cross-country skiing medalist Steve Cook, Group Rossignol American president Ron Steele and the late chairlift engineer Jan Leonard, cofounder of the Cable Transportation Engineering Corporation and former president of what became Doppelmayer CTEC..

Many may recall Christin Cooper as a race analyst. She said it was her responsibility as to slow down and "decode" the action for the viewer because most viewers are enthusiastic but need help understanding the intricacies of the sport.

Before that, she was a member of the U.S. Ski Team from 1977-1984. She completed her acing career at age 24 with 5 World Cup victories, 26 podiums and 65 finishes in the top 10.

The Intermountain Ski Hall of Fame is located in the Alf Engen Ski Museum at the Olympic Park in Park City. Entrance to the museum is free and it includes many interactive displays.

Follow the Taylorsville Journal on Facebook!
Today, Sports Intermountain Ski hall of Fame Alf Engen Museum Olympic Park, Park City Christin Cooper


Online Edition
Follow My City Journals on Facebook
Advertise with us


City Journals 9500 South 500 West, Suite 205, Sandy, Utah 84070 801.254.5974